Safe dating verification site

by  |  16-Feb-2016 13:36

Tinder users have been warned about a major new scam that is conning some customers by promising fake services.

The victim is then conned into giving over this information, which is used to sign them up to a number of subscription-based porn sites, which Symantec says can siphon off as much as $120 (£90) a month.

The company is urging users not to click on any suspicious links sent in Tinder messages, or to read the fine print carefully when signing up to any new services.

Symantec reminds users that, “If you’re using Tinder or any other online dating site or application, be aware that spam bots will continue to come up with creative ways to try to get you to sign up for other websites or services." "Do your part by reporting these accounts to Tinder and always make sure you read the fine print on any site or service before you sign-up.

If you think you have been the victim of a cyber-attack, check out The scam seems to have been influenced by Twitter’s verified user feature, used to help celebrity or notable users of the site assure their followers that their profiles are legitimate.

However these days may soon be at an end, as Twitter revealed earlier this month that it will be opening up verification to a wider selection of users.

Community Discussion